Management Board

The ESRF are directed by a 12-member Management Board which has representation from the federal government, the Canada-Newfoundland Offshore Petroleum Board, the Canada-Nova Scotia Offshore Petroleum Board, the oil and gas industry, and the general public. The ESRF is administered by a secretariat within Natural Resources Canada.


Jennifer Matthews - Chair
Health, Safety and Environmental Policy Advisor, Atlantic Canada
Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers
1701 Hollis Street, Suite 800
Halifax, NS B3J 3M8  
Greg Janes - Member
Team Lead - Environment, Emergency
Response and Security
Suncor Energy 
504, 235 Water Street 
St. John's, NL A1C 1B6
Sherry Becker - Member 
Beaufort/East Coast Operations Manage
237 4th Ave. SW
Calgary, AB T3A 0H6
Steve Bettles - Member
Corporate Responsibility Lead
Husky Energy
351 Water Street
St. John’s, NL A1C 1C2  


Robert Steedman - Vice Chair
Professional Leader / Chief Environment Officer
National Energy Board
517 Tenth Avenue S.W. 
Calgary, Alberta
Canada T2R 0A8
Patrice Simon - Member
Director, Environment and Biodiversity Science
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
200 Kent Street
Ottawa, ON K1A 0E6
Mark Hopkins - Member
Director General
Natural Resources and Environment Branch
Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada
15 Eddy St, 10th Floor
Gatineau, Quebec   K1A 0H4
Marc D’Iorio - Member
Director General
Environmental Protection Operations
Environment and Climate Change Canada
351 Saint-Joseph Blvd.
Gatineau, QC  K1A 0H3

Offshore Boards

Eric Theriault - Member
Advisor, Environmental Affairs
Canada-Nova Scotia
Offshore Petroleum Board
1791 Barrington Street
Halifax, NS B3J 3K9
David Burley - Member
Manager, Environmental Affairs
Canada-Newfoundland and Labrador
Offshore Petroleum Board
5th Floor, TD Place 140 Water Street
St. John's, NL A1C 6H6


Norm Snow - Member
Inuvik, NT